Aspiring to be Umme Ammaarah of the 21st Century

Umme

Saira Ahmed, Hounslow

The first Lajna UK Press and Media Workshop has been and gone but the profound emotional effect and words of wisdom still resonate in my mind. I learned in the workshop that my beloved Hazoor, Khalifatul Masih V (may Allah be his Helper), wants me to be an Umme Ammaarah of the 21st Century.

Final version workshop roller banner-jpeg

ME? Immediately my mind is spinning and asking questions. What can I offer? What do I know? What skills do I possess? But then I ponder over another question: what did Umme Ammaarah have so deeply ingrained in her that she stood by the side of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be on him) during the battles of Islam?

I search and it dawns upon me: she had passion and love. She fought for the truth, she did great propagation of faith and contributed towards moral education and training of others. Above all, she showed amazing examples of courage and bravery as she protected the blessed person of the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be on him).

I want to do that, but how? I cannot or need not fight any physical battles, and I must not cause physical damage and loss of life as my faith directs me. I can however propagate the vast literature that proves that the original Islam is a religion of peace and harmony. I can converse with people from all walks of life and open their eyes to the wisdom behind the teachings of Islam. I can pick up my pen and paper, and write.

The Promised Messiah, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (on whom be peace), who was given the title Sultan-ul-Qalam (King of the Pen) by Allah, states that it is the time of jihad of the pen. This is what I intend to do.

pen

I will write to defend my religion of Islam. I will write to honour the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be on him)a Mercy for all Mankind. And above all, I will write to uphold the name of Allah, the One, the Almighty.

This is being an Umme Ammaarah of the 21st Century. O Allah! please give me the strength to be one of thousands of Umme Ammarahs, as instructed by our beloved Hazoor, InshAllah.

Leave a Reply

